« BON JOVI TO BE INDUCTED INTO THE U.K. MUSIC HALL OF FAME - NOV 14 | Main | Special Guests Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora To Appear »

October 24, 2006

Entertainment Elite Intersect in Nashville for 'The 40th Annual CMA Awards'

Miranda Lambert, Little Big Town, Sugarland, and Josh Turner to Perform; Presenters Include 'American Idol' Alum Kellie Pickler, LeAnn Rimes, Barbara Mandrell, and New Jersey Rockers Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora


NASHVILLE, Tenn., Oct. 23 /PRNewswire/ -- The stars appearing on "The 40th Annual CMA Awards" are a testament to the overall popularity of Country Music. Legends, newcomers, style innovators and artists from other genres are all coming together for "Country Music's Biggest Night(TM)."

Added to the star-packed, performance line up for the 2006 CMA Awards are Horizon nominees Miranda Lambert, Little Big Town, Sugarland, and Josh Turner.

Presenting Awards will be "American Idol" alum Kellie Pickler; LeAnn Rimes; two-time CMA Entertainer of the Year Barbara Mandrell; and rock royalty Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora of CMA Awards nominated group Bon Jovi.

"The interest from the artistic community to be involved this year really demonstrates the excitement about the CMA Awards and overall appeal of Country Music," said CMA Chief Operating Officer Tammy Genovese. "Country Music crosses genres and touches people with stories that speak to the heart and performances that touch the human spirit."

And viewers can see for themselves when "The 40th Annual CMA Awards" airs live Monday, Nov. 6 (8:00-11:00 PM/ET) on the ABC Television Network from the Gaylord Entertainment Center in Nashville. CMA's most celebrated duo Brooks & Dunn return to host for the third consecutive year.

Lambert, Little Big Town, and Sugarland were among the artists who received two CMA Awards nominations this year.

Lambert received her first CMA Awards nomination in 2005 for the Horizon Award and in 2006 she received nominations for Horizon and Music Video of the Year for "Kerosene," which was directed by Trey Fanjoy. An artist can only receive two nominations for the Horizon category in their career.

Little Big Town received their first CMA Awards nominations in 2006 including Horizon and Vocal Group of the Year. The multi-Platinum selling Sugarland also received nominations for Horizon and Vocal Group of the Year, and Jennifer Nettles also picked up a solo nod for Musical Event of the Year with Bon Jovi for their duet "Who Says You Can't Go Home," marking the New Jersey-based rock group's first CMA Awards nomination.

Rounding out the Horizon Award category with Lambert, Little Big Town, Sugarland and Carrie Underwood is Josh Turner. Turner received his first CMA Awards nomination in the category in 2004.

"The depth and diversity of the Horizon nominees this year really speaks to the strength and future of the format," Genovese said.

Other performers already announced for the CMA Awards include Brooks & Dunn with Sheryl Crow and Vince Gill, Dierks Bentley, Kenny Chesney, Sara Evans, Faith Hill, Alan Jackson, Martina McBride, Brad Paisley, Rascal Flatts, George Strait, Carrie Underwood, and John Rich of Big & Rich performing with Gretchen Wilson. Actor, songwriting legend and member of the Country Music Hall of Fame Kris Kristofferson will introduce the 2006 Hall of Fame inductees.

Tickets for "The 40th Annual CMA Awards" are now on-sale to the general public, and can be purchased by logging on to www.ticketmaster.com; calling (615) 255-9600; or in-person at the Gaylord Entertainment Center box office, 501 Broadway (corner of Fifth Avenue and Broadway, in Nashville). The ticket price is $150 for Bronze level seating; $200 for Silver level seating (excluding applicable service/handling fees).

"The 40th Annual CMA Awards" is a production of the Country Music Association. Walter C. Miller is the Executive Producer; Robert Deaton is the Consulting Producer; Paul Miller is the Director; and David Wild will script the ceremonies. Premiere Radio Network is the official radio packager of the CMA Awards, including a stereo-radio simulcast of the gala event. American Airlines is the official airline of the 2006 CMA Awards. Chevy, an American Revolution, is the official ride of the 2006 CMA Awards. Additional promotional partners include aolmusic.com, Camping World®, Carl Black Chevrolet, Coca-Cola®, Country Music Television, Inc.®, Crisco®, Greased Lightning Cleaning Products®, Hallmark Cards®, Miller Brewing Company®, Prilosec OTC®, Purity Dairies®, T.G.I. Friday's®, The Biography Channel and Yankee Candle®. Charles Fazzino is the official artist of the 2006 CMA Awards.

Posted by riesambo at October 24, 2006 07:02 AM