« Community bands together to help renovate home for Woodbridge teen recovering from brain tumor | Main | Bon Jovi, Sambora Honored »

June 19, 2009

Bon Jovi, creators of Hair to join U.S. Songwriters Hall of Fame

Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora, and the songwriting team behind the musical Hair are to be inducted into the U.S. Songwriters Hall of Fame on Thursday Night.
The seven songwriting talents to be inducted also include soul group the Rascals, and 1960s rockers Crosby, Stills and Nash.
Broadway is well-represented with Canadian pianist and composer Galt MacDermot, James Rado and the late Gerome Ragni, who together wrote Hair, and Stephen Schwartz, who began his songwriting career with Godspell and also wrote Wicked and films such as Pocahontas.
It is the 40th anniversary of the Hall of Fame founded by U.S. hitmaker Johnny Mercer.

The full list of inductees:

  • Bon Jovi and Sambora: The pop group Bon Jovi had huge success beginning in the 1980s with rock songs such as You Give Love a Bad Name, It's My Life and I'll Be There for You, and anthems such as Wanted Dead or Alive and Blaze of Glory.
  • Felix Cavaliere and Eddie Brigati: The duo joined up in 1965 to form the Young Rascals, later the Rascals. Their soulful hits included Groovin', A Girl Like You, A Beautiful Morning and People Got to Be Free.
  • Roger Cook and Roger Greenaway: One of Britain's most prolific songwriting teams of the 1960s and '70s, they created You've Got Your Troubles for the Fortunes, My Baby Loves Lovin' for White Plains, Long Cool Woman in a Black Dress for the Hollies and I'd Like to Teach the World to Sing for Coke.
  • Crosby, Stills and Nash: David Crosby of the Byrds joined Stephen Stills of Buffalo Springfield and Graham Nash of the Hollies in 1968. Their songs, from the period before they were joined by Neil Young, include Helplessly Hoping, Marrakesh Express, Guinnevere and Southern Cross.
  • MacDermot, James Rado and Gerome Ragni: MacDermot scored the music of Hair to words by Rado and Ragni. The musical won a Grammy in 1969 and its songs were enduring hits, among them Aquarius/Let the Sunshine In, Hair, Good Morning Starshine and Easy to Be Hard.
  • Schwartz: New York City native Schwartz wrote Godspell at 23, winning two Grammy Awards. His other Broadway hits include Pippin, The Baker's Wife and Wicked, and he has been a prolific creator of songs for animated films, including The Hunchback of Notre Dame, Pocahontas, Prince of Egypt and Enchanted.

A celebrity crowd is expected at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City to see the songwriters inducted.

Clint Black, Daughtry, Berry Gordy, John Ondrasik, James Taylor, Ryan Tedder, Rob Thomas and Paul Williams are among those expected to present awards or perform.

There will be tributes to singer Andy Williams and to the song Moon River.

The Johnny Mercer Award will be presented to Brian Holland, Lamont Dozier and Eddie Holland, the songwriting team behind Motown hits such as You Can’t Hurry Love, Baby I Need Your Loving, How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You) and Stop! In The Name of Love.

Tom Jones will also be honoured with the Howie Richmond Hitmaker Award for his long career of pop hits such as Delilah, She's A Lady, It’s Not Unusual and What's New Pussycat?

Posted by riesambo at June 19, 2009 06:20 AM